Born on January 25th 2011

BismiLlah Al Rahman Al Rahim,

– I have had these thoughts in my head for the past days. Call them sketchy, unorganized, etc. I don’t mind.

– when I read my friends’ facebook statuses telling me about the protests on Jan 25th inspired by the Tunisian ones, I was I must admit skeptical that it would work. I honestly thought it would  look like the one on April 6th that only led people to jail and torture. But on Friday 28th, even though I couldn’t go to the protest, I felt this breath of fresh air, an unusual optimism for the future. It was bright, it was free. I truly had this “avant-gout” of freedom, I was in this state of total euphoria… Sobhanna Allah, I pictured the liberties we would have in studying and talking openly about any subjects whether religion, politics, society without having the constant fear of being interrogated or imprisoned by the “Amn Al Dawla” (National Security).

– Mubarak’s speech at midnight was not satisfying. But I was surprised that it actually got to him. It is so unnerving his total jemenfoutisme the next coming days, completely ignoring the people’s presence in Tahrir sq. It is like diminishing our own sense of expression. I am shouting and yet you still won’t listen to me. The frustation grows every day… and my euphoria dissipating little by little…

– With the news about the released prisoners, the very thought that every thing around me, everything I own might go, terrified me. I cannot believe that my mere existence revolves around my ownership: room, books, clothes, technology… Precaution measures were taken: prepare yourself just in case anything happens. I had to choose what I’ll take with me, what will stay and what will go… possibly forever. But sobhanna Allah, a few moments later, I realized that these things, that attach to this world are worthless, all that matters is what’s in my mind, my heart, what I believe. Everything comes and goes, but what’s in my core… I remember Imam Al Ghazali’s incident with the pirate on his way back home.

He had a book that contained all that he had studied for two whole years. “They’re everything I know” he begged the pirate, the latter with a smirk simply replied: “then all I have to do is take this book away from you to strip you from your knowledge…”. Imam Al Ghazali realized that this man was sent by God, and since then, he had committed to memory every new information he learned….

I wish I can reach that point. inch’Allah

– Mubarak’s second speech was just depressing. I think, but God knows best, that his decision to stay til September is just a means to ensure his successor, to find another way to keep his so called legacy longer… Even though this idea is denied by the famous journalist Emad Al Din Adeeb on El Mehwar channel. He claims that the president wouldn’t think this way anymore, not after what’s happening. Like I said, God knows best.

– I got nauseous from all those news channels, all those debates, commentators thinking they got it all figured out…

-اللهم أرنا الحق حقاً وارزقنا اتباعه، وأرنا الباطل باطلاً وارزقنا اجتنابه : Oh God show us the truth and allow (grant) us to follow it, and show us falsehood and allow us to avoid it

– Shaykh Abdal Hakim Murad’s friday khutbah (sermon), just said it all to me.

In the past days and weeks people all over the world have been following the events in Tunisia, Egypt and elsewhere. The people’s struggle for freedom inspires hope, but the dangers they face provoke fear and anxiety. Many question the role of religion in such difficult circumstances. Some fear mixing politics and religion. Others criticise the absence of leadership from religious figures, and say the ulema are out-dated and irrelevant. In this sermon, Sheikh Abdal Hakim provides a timely reminder of the fundamental importance for our leaders of ‘enjoining the good and forbidding the bad’ (amr bi-l-ma’ruf wa-nahy ‘an al-muhkar) – so important that Imam al-Ghazali called it ‘the greatest pillar’ (al-rukn al-‘azim) of the religion.

Among the many great scholars and saints who have discharged this weighty responsibility, despite the grave threat to their livelihoods and even their lives, Sheikh Abdal Hakim mentions Hasan Kaimi Baba of Bosnia, Sheikh al-Hasan al-Yusi of Morocco and Sheikh Amadou Bambaof Senegal. They were true followers of the Prophetic example, because they resisted injustice and oppression. May Allah grant our leaders, our scholars and us ourselves the determination to do the same, and may He in His All-Encompassing Mercy guide and protect the people of Tunisia, Egypt and all over the world wherever they face cruelty, corruption and repression.

Ya Qawiyyu ya Matin ikfi sharr al-zalimin, aslah Allah umur al-muslimin, sarraf Allah sharr al-mu’dhin.

You can listen to it here

– I still think we need a plan, what will do after he’s gone? do we have an idea about the future? who do you think should represent us? how will we contribute for a better Egypt? we don’t want people taking advantage of the current state. Let’s take matters into our own hands, we owe it to ourselves.

I remember Robert Fisk at a book signing a couple of years ago, telling me: “If you want to change, I always think the best solution is education.”

Ya Rab…

– Just because I am unable to assist the protests, doesn’t mean I can’t do anything else to support the protesters. it doesn’t make me a traitor or a coward.

~ by youngmuslimworld on February 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “Born on January 25th 2011”

  1. Of course it doesn’t habibty! There are so many people who are dying to go and haven’t been able to. You can contribute by:
    1) Spreading awareness: Very important because of the amount of propaganda being spewed by the government, so anytime you’re in a store, a taxi, at work, discuss the cause with people.
    2) Donating to the people in Tahrir food, medicine, blankets, and blood.
    3) Donating to the people who have been economically affected, I’m sure AYB is doing something, and Resala has a ton of activities. This weekend they’re packing food packages to give to families in poor areas, especially day-wage labourers.
    4) Becoming a superhero who vows to employ her superpowers to catch all the criminals and evil villains that have been released from jail (and while she’s at it maybe she can bring down the regime as well)

Leave a Reply

 
