“Traveling Light” by Visual Verse

BismiLlah Al Rahman Al Rahim,

I am taking high up with this piece. It moves your heart in an indescribable manner. It’s so touching, it goes right into you. I am unable to tell you how much I love it. Mash’Allah. Images by Mustafa Davis, Words by Amir Sulaiman. Music by Sigur Ros

click the title to watch it: Traveling Light

Lyrics:

Although time and space
have displaced us
i know we are not in different places
As I speak this I am racing
Running
Although my feet won’t touch the pavement
Yet as you hear this I am running
Racing

its hard to pen a poem
my body still
my heart has a heart of its own
its left me and made its way
alone
on its own
to your home
to its home

my love is racing to you
running
until you can feel its traces through you
racing running to you

i have no knowledge of the book
yet even the Ifrit couldn’t cover the distance
That my light my love
Is covering this instant

as i speak this
my love is racing running
as you hear this
my heart is racing coming

should i be more patient
but im not much for waiting
when my every waking
moment
is facing
your face

while i speak this
im racing
as you hear this
im running

my heart is racing running
to you

Is it just me or are the words so well balanced that you can’t add anything to it? I don’t know what Sulaiman was aiming for in his poem but I just listen to it and it defines the state I want to constantly be in with God “racing, running”, feeling your heart going to where it actually belongs, detaching yourself from the material form and experience for just a glimpse, a little moment His Light, “Ah, [Y]our face”. I hear this and the Divine Name “Salam” comes to my mind, a certain sweetness to it. “Ya Salam” where everything is at it is, as it should be.

I want to go home, to You.

~ by youngmuslimworld on January 3, 2011.

2 Responses to ““Traveling Light” by Visual Verse”

  1. Al Salam Alaykum, very true it feels like that state of restlessness,between racing to keep that state of heart and connection and longing to eternal peace.

    This Reminded me of Led Zeplin’s stairway to heaven.for me it defines that state of contentment, yakeen and submission, where that woman saw Al dunia as a tool and used it to build herself a stairway to heaven..

    Nice Blog msA Keep up the good work🙂

    • Wa aleikum al salam, thank you very much for your kind words and for reading, it truly humbles us🙂

      i find led zeppelin too psychedelic for my taste, but i would definitely agree with the story behind stairway to heaven… sobhanna Allah…
      it reminds me of Pearl Jam’s lyrics also such as “i know i was born and i know that i’ll die, the in-between is mine” for Muslims, i think for them it’s their time to make the most out of it for God…

Leave a Reply

 
