C’est l’histoire d’une fille passionee de BD*

BismiLlah Al Rahman Al Rahim,

The major reason that made me study Art was comic books. I still remember my little corner in the school library where I would sit and read during my free periods. I still remember those quick discussions with the librarian recommending me such and such author, a quick review of a particular comic… Scrutinizing every little panel, observing a brush stroke, rereading sentences over and over again. Bliss. El hamdouliLlah.

Here are some of the comic books that have affected me during my last high school year, before heading back to Egypt. They are all classics, like basics for all comic-book lovers. But still, hold a dear place in my heart. I will not attempt to review the books but rather describe how it made me feel.

Maus by Art Spiegelman: This comic-book made me realize that one could write a graphic novel with such importance and lightness… I enjoyed reading it a lot

Le sommeil du monstre by Enki Bilal: science-fiction, politics, art, visionary… A whole world where you dive into… I was amazed, I knew that if I ever wanted to make comics, I will have to follow Bilal’s steps. In fact, my first exhibit had a science fictive style highly inspired by Bilal and also Moebius.

Le combat ordinaire by Manu Larcenet: “There’s another world inside of me/That you may never see/There are secrets in this life that I can’t hide/But somewhere in this darkness there’s a light that  I can’t find/Maybe it’s too far away/Or maybe I’m just blind” this song called “When I’m gone” by 3 Doors Down was for me the perfect illustration of Larcenet’s “Ordinary Victories”. Meditating on one’s life and pondering on our paths is the feeling that it left me with.

Jimmy Corrigan by Chris Ware: the perfect picture of loneliness. I felt nauseous after finishing the book because it felt so real. Pure genius. A book that made me count my blessings.

Chninkel by Rosinski & Van Hamme: Van Hamme is an amazing and prolific writer (LargoLe grand pouvoir du Chninkel Winch, XIII) and throughout my Fine Art years, I subconsciously imitated Rosinski lines in sketching, using indian ink. The first comic-book I ever read was “Le Maitre des Montagnes” from the Thorgal series by the same authors. They have shaped my childhood. Reading Chninkel was just to prove Van Hamme’s skills in dealing with  abstract subjects such as religion and Rosinski vivid imagination. But on a personal, it just made me understand divine miracles. We always expect something out of the ordinary, forgetting that actually existing and carefully looking at the things around us will help us uncover daily miracles.

*It’s the story of a girl who loves comics. This title takes the same shape as “Le combat ordinaire”‘s text on the back to summarize the book.

F-

~ by youngmuslimworld on November 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “C’est l’histoire d’une fille passionee de BD*”

  1. Enjoyable entry! Liked reading the titles you mentioned. I’ve never been a fan of comics, or maybe I enjoyed them but they weren’t my natural inclination. Would love to explore some of your titles some time.

    I’m sorry, I started following your blog recently. So you are originally from Egypt but you loved somewhere else?

Leave a Reply

 
