To My Mother

BismiLlah Al Rahman Al Rahim,

This is one of my favourite Marcel Khalife pieces. It’s originally a poem by Mahmoud Darwish, a famous Palestinian poet. Every time I listen to it, I am shaken deep inside…

A true tribute to all mothers.

أحن الى خبز امي
وقهوة امي …..
ولمسة امي ….
وتكبر فيّ الطفولة
يوما على صدر يوم
واعشق عمري لأني اذا متّ
اخجل من دمع امي

****

خذيني اذا عدت يوما
وشاحا لهدبك
وغطي عظامي بعشب
تعمّد من طهر كعبك
وشدي وثاقي
بخصلة شعر
بخيط يلوّح في ذيل ثوبك…..
عساني اصير الها
الها اصير….
اذا ما لمست قرارة قلبك..!!!

****

ضعيني ، اذا مارجعت
وقودا بتنور نارك
وحبل غسيل على سطح دارك
لأني فقدت الوقوف
بدون صلاة نهارك
هرمت ، فردّي نجوم الطفولة
حتى اشارك
صغار العصافير
درب الرجوع …
لعش انتظارك
*
امي .

I long for my mother’s bread
And my mother’s coffee
And my mother’s touch…
My childhood grows within me
Day after day
I love my life because
If I died,
I would be embarrassed by my mother’s tears

Take me, if I return one day
As a scarf (for your lashes/hem)
And cover my bones with grass
Baptized by the purity of your heel
Tie me up
With a lock of hair
With a thread that points to the tail of your dress
Perhaps I will become a god
A god I would become
If I felt the bottom of your heart
Put me, if I return
As fuel to light your fire
And a wash-line on your house’s roof
Because I’ve lost my strength to stand
Without the prayer of your day
I’ve grown old… return the stars of childhood
So I can share with the sparrow chicks
The way back
To the nest of your waiting

F-

~ by youngmuslimworld on October 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
